TS 590 PSK / Digital Setup and USB Malfunction / Solution

TS-590SG PSK Setup

These are notes on setting up digital ops on the TS590  using USB for audio data, PTT and CAT control from a PC.  Single USB cable provides both CAT control and Audio in and out.   The audio over USB is provided by a very slick device driver (Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COM3)).  When the USB computer link is working it works beautifully but I soon encountered a gremlin with the USB link dropping while transmitting.  This problem was finally corrected by replacing the USB cable.

SETUP 

  1. Set ALC level (see below)
  2. DM780 Setup (Fig 3)  : PTT …..: Ham Radio Deluxe, Input …: Microphone – USB Audio CODEC , Output ..: Speakers3- USB Audio CODEC
  3. Dell: HDSDR Second receiver: on the laptop with DRV (ant) engaged. USB cable connected
  4. Dell: Figure 1: USB Connection: 9600 BAUD : set with Device manager Figure 1.
  5. TS590: USB – menu 70 : select “rEAr” for “source of send PTT”  to activate USB port – this setting took a while to discover.
  6. TS590:  Freq/mode,  DATA,  NR off, PROC off, AGF -F, USB cable connected

Set ALC for Digital to Zero Indication 

  • Switch in dummy load / AT off
  • Radio: Set Power to 100W
  • Radio: Set meter to ALC monitor
  • PC: Key PSK to transmit
  • PC: Set ALC with DM780 Soundcard control for zero ALC indication (Figure 4)

Set transmit Power 

  1. Radio: power control on the TS590 with audio output fixed.  Allows granular power control below maximum.
  2. PC: Soundcard control on DM780
  3. At or near maximum power the transmit power responds to small increases in audio output from the computer.

Figure 1:  PC – Device Manager USB Port set to 9600 Baud

USBdevice

Figure 2. PC volume control set to around 50%

mixer

Figure 3. DM780 Soundcard set for USB Audio CODEC
20dB Transmit attenuation

SoundcardOptions

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 4. Set the audio output of PC from DM780  Soundcard control

DM780_soundcardControl    

 

 

 

 

 


 

Problem: USB Drops While Transmitting Malfunction:  Feb 2015

HRD Timeout error when transmitter is keyed – occurs with Digital transmission and  by keying the mic 40M SSB phone.  Can occur the instant transmitter is keyed or some seconds afterward.  There was a second effect that silenced USB audio out from the computer. I wouldn’t be surprised by other effects.

I’m not the only guy to experience this.  KG6RGX fixed his problem by replacing an unshielded USB cable with a shielded one with ferrites molded in – see picture below – something like this.  I replaced a pretty good looking 6′ shielded cable (E129760) with two ferrites molded in with another nearly identical looking 6′ shielded cable with ferrites  (Foxcomm).  My cable is not gold plated. Also rerouted the cable.  The Tripp Lite below or maybe it’s 3′ version, available from Amazon worked for kg6rgx.

511-Ablc+uL

See below for  a trip down the rabbit hole.


 

Figure 5. HRD Program – Timeout Error

timeout

Failure Process

  1. Key transmitter, one second later …
  2. Transmission Stops.   DM780 or FLDIGI freezes.
  3. Radio stuck in transmit (no power out because audio is cut off with USB dead)
  4. To turn off transmitter, press the SEND button.
  5. DM780 is frozen – must be killed
  6. HRD displays the error condition — Figure 5  – Timeout .
  7. Another related problem is where the CAT works but the audio out from the computer is dead – no output.

Observations:
Adding ferrites on USB cable do nothing.  (to a cable that already has two ferrites molded in)
Randomly responds to reduction in power,
At other times there is clear correlation with power.

Changing COAX jumper from radio to Bird wattmeter did seem to affect occurrence but does not prevent malfunction.
Some randomness  when problem recurs.
affected by band — 40m seems more susceptible than 20 or 10m.
Does not occur with dummy load.
Reducing baud rate to 9600 seemed to have an effect but the problem came back
Try rerouting the cable – I did not really try this.
Switching out USB cable for another very similar looking cable AND rerouting cable fixed the problem  2/20/15  

 

~ by marksun on February 12, 2015.

18 Responses to “TS 590 PSK / Digital Setup and USB Malfunction / Solution”

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It solved my problem, wich was the exact as your. A new USB cable did it for me too.

  2. Thanks very much for excellent instructions! Up and running on digital modes in no time thanks to the beautiful job you did explaining the interface!
    Much better than the TS-590SG manual.

  3. I haven’t tried the new USB cable yet but am using a standard printer USB cable to make the connection between the 590 and PC. Used to have a lot of issues and PSK would work then not work so was very sensitive to RF somewhere. I just installed ferites on the USB and power lines and a line filter on the RG 8x. Now I don’t get the time out or “connection lost” and it appears to be working. The power supply shows increased current when transmitting but I don’t get any indication on the 590 display which I used to in the past. So it appears that I’m transmitting but not with any audio. Have the audio cards set as before when it worked (but intermittently). Comments?

    • Thanks for the note Bob. I suppose I should re-read what I wrote before replying (hi)… Your descriptions sounds familiar – rf issues are frustrating but sounds like something made a difference in your setup. Be cool if that worked. Q: What was the indication that you used to get?
      The transmitter light should come on on the tranceiver and if TX MON is set you hear the audio if it’s coming across. If the TX Mon is on but no audio when you key up, then maybe the wrong audio output device is selected on the computer side of the system? The computer should think it’s playing back audio via the USB AUDIO driver (on my Win 10 system for example). It should match the audio device defined in your digital software program. Also check that the DATA button is engaged on the ts590.

  4. Did a new cable fix your problem Mark?

    I’m having a similar issue – no audio appears to be coming from DM780 through the USB to my TS-590SG.

    If I switch DM780 to output to the speakers, I indeed hear the data whine, if I switch it to the USB Codec it will trigger the rig vox, but there’s no power output.

    If I go to the PC and trigger sounds in the sound device control panel, it triggers the rig and I see power output.

    I’m using a USB cable with a clear outter jacket and I can see the metal shielding through it, but there are no ferrites. I am running commercial 450 window line and a tuner to a non-resonant loop.

    The problem persists even at 5w output. I’ve had very little issues with rig control, just on a very rare occasion, if I ran the bandscope, it it would hang and I’d need to power the rig and the rig’s power supply down and restart and then it’ll work again for literally weeks.

    I did order the listed Tripp Lite shielded / beaded cable, but it won’t be here for a week, so I was just wondering what the rest of the story on your problem turned out to be.

    Thanks! 73,

    Steve

    • Hi Steve – the USB cable change helped me to fix an RFI problem – probably common mode RF on the shield, so better shielding and possibly cable grounding helped out. What you describe sounds like an audio problem. Every once in a while I try to transmit in a digital mode, the rig does indicate transmission (red TX light on), but there is no power out and the audio TX monitor is silent. The reason for no power is that there is no modulation (audio) input to the radio. For me, this is usually caused by the computer audio output not set to the USB audio output, or the gain on the USB audio output is too low. Happens to me because I use the computer audio for listening to music, or to you tube, etc., and then when I come back to running the rig, the default audio output (on the computer) is set to a different device – and not to the USB audio.

      Let me know if this is off track! Good luck… kh6dk aka Marksun

  5. This is NN2X…I have 100% the exact problem, even the issue more on 40 meters..I will order the cable you recommend…Amazing someone else had the same issue..! Thanks for posting

  6. Hi Mark,

    I’m certain I have things selected correctly, as I said above, if I go to the PC and trigger sounds in the sound device control panel, it triggers the rig and I see power output. I can even play an mp3 recording and it indeed modulates the radio and shows output, it’s just DM780 that doesn’t seem to be giving the modulation. I’ve done a little net research in between activities today and it seems I’m not alone in this, I’ve ran across several threads where people were having this issue, but so far none with a solution.

    I was hoping for a quick answer as HRD’s Tech Support is off for the holidays, but it looks like I’ll just have to wait until they’re back.

    Thanks for taking a shot at it! I’ll post back what develops.

    73,

    Steve, KA0NEB

  7. Steve, thanks for replying. Shucks – it does sound like the USB is working for both CAT and audio with just the OS, which leaves us with a deep dive into DM780. I cant think of any radio side settings that would affect your result. For what it’s worth, HRD / DM780 I have are the freeware version and I’m running Windows 10. I won’t be back in the shack for a few days. Hope to hear good news and a solution to share! 73 kh6dk

    • Hi Mark, yeah, I’m really thinking it’s a DM bug, especially since there are other threads where others are having the same problem. I really wish I could find one with a solution posted though!
      .
      I’m low vision and I need high contrast colors to be able to read things on the computer screen, and I bought HRD simply because DM works much better in that regard compared with FLDigi, etc..
      .
      My version of HRD/DM is the most recent, and I just bought it, so I have Tech Support available from them, they’re just on holiday vacation (which is fine, they deserve a holiday break too). I’m sure once they’re back we’ll get something figured out – and once we do, I’ll post it back here for others in the future.
      .
      Hope you had a Merry Christmas, and have a Happy New Year!
      .
      73,
      .
      Steve, KA0NEB

      • Steve, mahalo! you too! Could indeed be a bug… lucky for me it works with my rig. Q?- was hrd/dm780 working before, and then broke? Also is fldigi working. Just curious. 73 ms/kh6dk

      • I’ve just installed it, so I dunno if it ever worked before. The major motivation was simply to make it easier for me to see since I’m low vision, working digital is just a bonus.
        .
        I have worked PSK with FLdigi off of it a while back, but I don’t have FLdigi installed on the shack computer now since I’ve done a reload. I just can’t configure FLdigi with the right color combinations to work for my vision, so I gave up on it.
        .
        HRD’s Tech support is working via email and I’ve been talking with them a bit, we haven’t found much out yet. I can see audio bouncing my pc audio control, but it’s just not making it through DM780 to the rig. I also can’t hear anything using my rig’s monitor function. I can play mp3 files through Windows Media Player and key and modulate the rig if I select the usb audio as the PC default audio device, so the usb audio IS working. It’s like DM780 just isn’t talking to the usb audio, even though it’s the selected device.

        Tech support said they could do a log on session next Monday, so if they don’t come up with anything else for me to check it’ll probably have to wait a week, which is fine, everyone needs some time off, and it was nice of them to take a quick shot at it.

      • For curiosity I installed FLDigi 3.23.19 with the TS-590S.xml file for CAT control, and it works perfect! No issues at all getting audio out, so it has to be either a mis-configuration or a bug in DM780. I’m sure Tech Support will iron it out.

      • Yup, I’m sure it will work out. HRD/DM780 is a great product and for the developer, this problem doesn’t sound like it should be too hard to crack. Glad they’re on it! thanks for the reports Steve.

  8. Thanks for posting this is my second reply…I put in the cable, (Gold Plated, Shielded)…Work 100%…Thanks for putting this information on the Internet

Leave a comment